Connect with SNL Alumna Sylvia Jung St. Clair

by

Sylvia Jung St. Clair

Meet Sylvia Jung St. Clair, a 2010 graduate of SNL with a focus area in Legal Studies.

What field do you currently work in?

I am a stay-at-home parent to my three children: Mya, age 4; Ilana, age 3; and Owen, age 1, and attend law school part-time.

How did your education at SNL impact your current job?

I tailored my focus area in legal studies knowing attending law school was a goal of mine. I took courses that explored legal issues in family, property, and criminal law, introduced negotiation techniques, learned how to assess and manage conflict, and broadened my ability to analyze rules and apply to multiple scenarios. My focus area surveyed a wide range of skills I will continue to use in law school and beyond.

What advice do you have for current students taking online classes?

Continue to take courses that spark your interest, but try to leave room to explore areas you are unfamiliar with by reading the syllabus before choosing the online course. In an online learning environment, you lose the interactions with your fellow classmates and instructor, but staying proactive with your learning, you will not lose the collaborative learning process that comes with online learning through the discussion boards. If you have questions or need clarification, do not be afraid to contact the instructor directly. Check the boards frequently for new postings and responses.

Looking back as a student, is there anything you would have done differently?

I would have enjoyed taking more courses in the arts and ideas category. I really enjoyed learning about topics I was unfamiliar with and gaining more appreciation for the arts.

How did your School for New Learning experience help you?

Staying focused on the goal (competency) of the class and how I could apply this new learning in other aspects of my life (reflective). My SNL experience taught me to constantly critique what I am reading in law school and how it applies to the broader and more general picture.

Leave a Reply

