Connect with SNL Online’s Jana Berger

by

Jana Berger

Jana Berger is an attorney who serves as defense counsel in cases involving premises and product liability. She earned her Juris Doctorate degree from Roger Williams University School of Law. She is an expert in Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and has written extensively on Privacy rules. She is a member of the SNL Online Part-Time Faculty.

Tell us about your educational background and where you worked before SNL.

I’m a Michigander . . . and I’ve lived in the state most of my life. I attended Northern Michigan University in Marquette, Michigan – the Upper Peninsula where it snows in May and classes were cancelled when it hit -40 degrees! I graduated in 1993 with a Bachelor of Science in Political Science / Pre-Law. German was my minor. From 1995 to 1998, I attended Roger Williams University School of Law in Bristol, Rhode Island. It was an extraordinary place to live and study, just about 20 minutes northwest of Newport, Rhode Island. After earning my Juris Doctorate, I returned to Michigan. I’ve been practicing law ever since and am currently a partner at Foley & Mansfield, P.L.L.P. I work in our Detroit office; however, I do get to our Chicago office now and again for depositions, meetings, etc.

What intrigued you most about DePaul and SNL?

My parents were both public school teachers. My older brother is a public school teacher. I guess you could say that “teaching is in my blood.” Unfortunately, it’s not something my busy career and other activities allows for. Thank you DePaul! The opportunity to teach in an online community has offered me the flexibility to do something I truly enjoy while continuing to remain devoted to my career as an attorney and my other interests.

Besides your work, what are your other interests?

I enjoy my time with family and friends. I’m close to my two brothers, and my nieces and nephew. I always look forward to seeing them. I love traveling – the more adventurous the better! I’ve taken a number of interesting trips to Romania and other Eastern European countries. I love spending time in Northern Michigan, near Traverse City, in the Summer. The sun sets, fresh air, walking wooded trails, looking for Petoskey stones, bon fires on the beach . . . I’m picturing my retirement as I write this. Ha!

Other interests: fishing, outdoor activities, competitive shooting, “spa day,” wine and music.

What classes do you teach?

I teach Property Law, Policy and Everyday Implications during the Spring and Fall terms. My proposal for Workplace Law: Harassment, Discrimination and Civil Rights was accepted by DePaul. So, I’m in the process of developing this course. The plan is to launch it this Fall. I’m looking forward to teaching it!

What are some of your research interests?

Federal Indian Law / Tribal Law is an area of law I am currently practicing. It’s hands-down the most fascinating area ever! There is so much history involved in researching legal issues facing Tribes. Also, the Native American culture, the languages. . . it’s all so intriguing to me. I hope that my work in this area lends support to the sovereign rights of Tribes in this country, as well as the rich traditions, languages and cultures of these peoples.

What do you like most about working with SNL Online?

Flexibility. It’s a convenient but an extremely effective way to teach and to learn.

What advice would you give to current students taking online classes?

Be very, very mindful of time management and the discipline it takes to “stay on top” of your studies. I believe it is easy to let the convenience of taking an online course to overshadow the discipline it takes to perform well when you have the flexibility to study on your own terms.

Leave a Reply

