Connect with SNL Alumnus Nicole Worley

by

Nicole Worley

Where are you currently working since graduation?

I recently took a position with VISTA (Volunteers in Service to America). I am working with Elder Law of Michigan in the benefits enrollment department. We work with low-income individuals, assessing their eligibility for state and local programs and assisting with the daunting application process.

How did you manage your time as an online student?

I worked it around my life. I was working full-time and I still wanted to spend time with my family, so I often studied during lunch breaks. I also dedicated late evening hours to my studies. These times I usually did my reading, short assignments, and blackboard posting. I spent Sunday afternoons working on papers and research.

What did you find appealing about the SNL online program?

I enjoyed the flexibility of the program and that it was geared toward individuals who had life and work experience. Competence based learning ensures that what is taught is very applicable to real-world situations.

What was your favorite class that you took online with SNL?

This is a tough question and one that I find is constantly changing depending on what is currently happening in my life. I really enjoyed my globalization courses. Right now Creative Tools for Social Change is very relevant to my life working with a non-profit organization. I will be able to put into practice many of the lessons I learned in that course.

Looking back as a student, is there anything you would have done differently?

I would have started my advanced project earlier. I was slightly confused about some particulars and that made the last couple of months a little stressful. Talking to my academic advisor about my plans earlier in the process would have been beneficial. I also would have taken research seminar at the earliest possible time. The research skills I took away from that course were very helpful when writing papers for other courses.

What advice do you have for current SNL online students?

Keep up with your reading, posting, and coursework by making a plan of study each week for every class. It does not need to be complicated or overwhelming, just a few notes about what and when tasks are due in order to keep you on track. Ask for clarification whenever you need it from instructors and advisors.

What are your plans for the future? Do you plan on furthering your education?

After my year working at Elder Law, I plan to attend law school.

Leave a Reply

